And a new adventure begins…!!!

abbey-phone-2016-1454

For those of you that have read my blog for the past 2 years… thank you!!! And I apologize my infrequent posts. I recently started a crazy, fun and exciting adventure (as you may have discovered if you follow me on social media (@dairyfarmerrd #dairyfarmerrd2imlp)) … I’m training for Ironman Lake Placid!!! One of my goals (besides completing the actual race) is to document my progress via blogging and social media platforms. I hope this will help me reflect on the day after day constancy of training, nutrition and rest… and repeat (as the race itself is a small part of the journey). I also hope followers will be inspired to challenge themselves to get up and move!! and to get back in the kitchen to rethink nutritious snacks and meals.

I’m teaming up with American Dairy Association Northeast to help me navigate the art of blog posts and engaging social media followers (wish me luck). I released my first IMLP training post on their website…you can take a look using the link  http://www.dairyspot.com/dairy-farmer-ironman/  (and for future posts) or just keep reading, I inserted the post below!

rit_farm_tour_237

Hello curious readers, future friends, and fans,

My name is Abbey Copenhaver, I’m a dairy farmer and Registered Dietitian (otherwise known as the “dairy farmer RD”). I’m also a triathlete, dog mom, aunt, sister (to 7 awesome siblings), graduate student, and current Ironman pursuer. I consider myself a pioneer of combining my passion for farming, food and fitness into a career and lifestyle.

The Challenge:

Last August, I announced my ambitious plan to race in the Ironman Lake Placid 140.6 (IMLP) this upcoming July. As I prepare to test my mettle with a 2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike ride and 26.2 mile run, I’ll share training tips, nutrition information, and an inside look at what it’s like to balance the (often chaotic) life of a dairy farmer and endurance athlete as a member of Team Chocolate Milk.

In other words, lace up your shoes (or fix your goggles/clip into your pedals) and get ready for cute pictures of my amazing cows and, as you’ll find out, the incredible athletes I meet along the way. I’m also a pun lovin’ gal, so I might slip in a cow/food/triathlete pun here and there 🙂

abbey-phone-2016-448

About Me: 

I was raised in a big New York farm family (I come from a long line of dairy farmers). My New York roots run deep, so Lake Placid is an extra special and obvious choice for my first 140.6 triathlon distance. Although I have a sneaky feeling (like with the 70.3 triathlon distance) this may not be my last 140.6, I’m beyond excited to finish in the Olympic oval!

Tackling the 140.6 triathlon distance wasn’t something I EVER thought I’d attempt. However, after I achieved my Registered Dietitian credentials, launched my consulting business (Farmstead Nutrition), started a dairy farm with my amazing hubby, and pulled off my first triathlon in 2013, I realized our limits are where we set them. So, you never truly know until you tri! 

It Takes a Village

There’s a saying, “It takes a village.” This applies to multiple areas of my life, but it can’t be more true for this journey we’re about to share. Without the pillars of support from my husband (Mr. Dairy Farmer), my sister Becca (to whom I owe my triathlon addiction), and my sister Emma for being just as crazy to race IMLP with me, I wouldn’t be writing this first of many posts. Of course, I need to say a huge thank you to American Dairy Association Northeast (Editor’s Note: Thanks for the shout out, Abbey!) for sponsoring my IMLP journey and recognizing the opportunity this journey provides to advocate the agricultural, athletic, and nutrition communities.

The next 6 months to be filled with ups and downs (literally), challenges, physical and mental limits, and many surprises along the way. I couldn’t be more excited to share this experience with the virtual world and maybe inspire folks to shake things up and challenge themselves.

“Tri Not to Cry Over Spilt Milk”

I know what you’re thinking…. it’s a little cliché, but I love wordplay and milk has a way of coming up in a conversation with every dairy farmer. In my world, spilt milk isn’t anything to laugh about! While training for IMLP I’m anticipating road blocks that will test my commitment. In this ongoing blog segment, I will to share these hiccups along with photographic evidence (because “pics or it never happened”).

This month’s Spilt Milk: my knee has decided to get nervous right before starting my training plan, but it’s nothing a little rest, ice, and listening to my body won’t fix! This meant making the awesome fashion choice to sport sneakers with my dress pants. It also gave me a little triathlete street cred with my co-workers.

img_5666-2

Join the Journey!

As a result of growing up in a big family I’m used to lots of chatter. The best way to follow my journey and send me encouragement (please!), comments, questions, your own “Tri Not to Cry Over Spilt Milk” training stories and the occasional positive vibe, follow the social media accounts and hashtags below and keep an eye open for new blog posts and videos!

 

Follow along:

Instagram: @abbey.dairyfarmerrd

Facebook: Dairy Farmer RDN @farmsteadncs

#Hashtags To Follow

#RefuelWithChocolateMilk
#DairyFAN
#TriHarder
#TeamRefuel #IronWomen
#TeamCHOCOLATEMILK

If you make it out to Ironman Syracuse or IMLP look for my orange and black Team Chocolate Milk gear and cheer me on (I’ll need it)! Thanks again for starting this journey with me and remember to just keeping tri-ing and get mooving – I warned you about the puns 🙂 !!!!

Leave a Reply

