Mac it up with cheese

It was another hot one in the finger lakes today… So I didn’t want to use my stove. But with my grill needing a propane refill I figured if I was heating up my kitchen it better hit the spot.

So I cooked up an old favorite, Mac and cheese! I used whole grain elbow noodles and tossed with 1 tablespoon of unsalted butter, 3/4 cup 1% milk and 2 tablespoons flour. Stirred util thicken and then added 1/2 tps ground muster, pinch black pepper and 3 different cheeses (1/4 cup each):

Sharp cheddar 

Sharp white cheddar 

Colby jack

  
So many pretty cheeses!!!

Stir until melted and you can keep warm until ready to serve.

I then sautéed zucchini in 1 tablespoon olive oil just until soft.

For protein I marinated chicken breast in a balsamic honey salad dressing for 8 hrs (started marinate before work this morning) and baked for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. It was great because I popped the chicken in the oven and made the Mac and cheese so dinner was finished all at the same time! 

  
Heating up the kitchen was well worth it… We just had to eat dinner on the deck while the kitchen cooled down ( I know, rough life right). Not picture was the no bake cookies, which was a nice cold treat, obviously enjoyed was a cold glass of milk! 

Don’t be afraid to heat things up! 

Leave a Reply

